Highcross Road, Poulton-le-Fylde, Lancs, FY68BE
01253 883019

Governing Body

Since Baines School is a Non-denominational, Voluntary Aided Comprehensive School, the Governing Body is responsible for all aspects of school life.

The Governing Bodies duty is to act as the ‘Critical Friend’ to the school, encouraging everyone at the school to behave well and give of their best. The Governors employ all Members of Staff, and are tasked with looking after the way they conduct themselves in school and their wellbeing. This is carried out on behalf of the Governing Body, by the Finance and General Purposes Committee.

The Governors are also responsible for the financing of the school. Meeting regularly with the Senior Management Team, via its Finance and General Purpose’s committee, they review spending and authorise any capital expenditure needed to keep the school at the forefront of education in Poulton. Money is provide to the school by the Local Education Authority which in our case is Lancashire County Council.

Additionally, the Curriculum Committee meet with the Senior Management Team to review past results and encourage strategies for improvement where subject results are not up to expectations. This is carried out by reviewing the many statistics available to the school.

Most importantly, the Governors are responsible for the safety and wellbeing of all the pupils in the school. They ensure that the pupils’ time at Baines School is enjoyable and productive.

The Chairman of Governors is Mr Robert Fletcher; the Vice-Chairman is Mr Robert Hindle. Should you wish to contact either of them please do so through by email or contact form, putting “FAO the Governors” in the subject line.

Foundation GovernorsTerm
Mr R Fletcher4yrs - Sept 2022
Chair - Sept 2021
Mr R Hindle4yrs - Nov 2022
Vice Chair - Sept 2021
Mrs G Yeadon4yrs - Sept 2025
Mr P Cain4yrs - Sept 2024
Mrs J Veevers4yrs - Oct 2022
Revd. M Keighley4yrs - Sept 2022
Mr P Sharples4yrs - Nov 2023
Mrs N Sopworth4yrs - Sept 2022
Mrs T Mallinson4yrs - June 2022
Parent Governors 
Mr S O'Brien4yrs - Sept 2021
Miss C Wilkinson4yrs - Nov 2023
LEA Governors 
Staff Governors 
Mrs A ChapmanHeadteacher - Ex Officio
Mr W Cropper4yrs - Apr 2022
Mrs J Imisson4yrs - Oct 2023